10k Road Race Today

  Question:: What’s better than waking up at 6:00 AM on a Saturday and running a 10K road race with complete strangers in 37* weather?? I”ll tell you what: Beating your record!

The road course was great. Actually, far be it from me to judge a race- this is only my second real one. I only started running two summers ago. At that time, I literally couldn’t run around a soccer field. Running was hard at first, but I started to enjoy it. In the past four weeks, I ran 74 miles (which isn’t that much for most runners). I plan on cutting that down during the next two weeks. 

Anyway, the rich people out here have some weird running gear.  I saw men with glistening blue tights. Water bottles that attach to your hips. Flat running shoes that looked like they were from Mars. Interesting. I also saw a man with No Shoes AT ALL.  It sure was beautiful out this morning. Don’t be fooled by the men in the front with shorts and no shirts. It was ice cold.  

Click for Full Size View 

I just finished a book called “The Memory Keeper’s Daughter.” It’s a recent bestseller. Sometimes it’s nice to step away from the classics and look for a gem in the world of pop literature. The book was average – an easy read. I enjoyed the writing style but the subject matter was not really for me. I’m trying to decide whether I want to go back to Crime and Punishment. It was living up to it’s name, so I gave it a break. If you’ve read a good book lately, please let me know!

1 Comment

Filed under reading, running, Weather

One response to “10k Road Race Today

  1. ethicalbusinessbuilder

    i miss those days of being able to run in above freezing weather. 😦

Leave a Reply

